Setting Up Painting Studio with random goods.

I was working on Saturday and got asked do you need to buy traditional goods to have ” AN ART STUDIO “like easel , a big space and so on. My answer is NO I have easel in both my studios but when I first started I was working off milk crates and  paint tins to hold my work off the ground. My studio isnt the world great space either, I work out  of a one car garage which I share with my father. But Im lucky enough to have nice space at Griffith University which I share with 15 others artists which is featured above and below. But for years I have worked out of garage and even off balcony. I believe you need spend your money on good supplies and not fantasy furniture to make your studio look pretty, studios are made for messy and like Francis Bacon used to describe his organised chaos.

IMG_1332

Christopher Mckenzie Studio Start of Semster 2013

PALETTES 

If you believe in the fantasy of using a wooden palette like Renaissance artists by all means do so, but I use a number of items in my studio :
A Spotlight Chip and Dip tray  is my favourite
Party Plastic Cups
Plastic lids or containers are amazing if you like to recycle.

When I used oil paints I found an old piece of glass from ugly picture frame from the junk yard which then I removed from the framed and fix it with duck-taped to old table top.

Now the reasoning behind trying suggesting plastic palette or surfaces for painting is, that you are able me to peal the paint of the surface most of the time. Then once pealed off I then like to glue my dried paint into my diaries and right notes on what ever I may have used to create a colour or just document the process. Now I’m huge advocate for artist diaries, documenting your artwork so try get into the habit of doing this.Plastic Leds

Plastic Lids
$5.00 Chip and Dip tray from spotlight I use this for palette all the time .

$5.00 Chip and Dip tray from spotlight I use this for palette all the time .

JARS , TURPS and PAINT STORAGE

Who likes eating spaghetti or chicken tonight? Well you guessed it recycling time again don’t just throw out this jar using them from linseed , artist mediums or just your jug to clean your brushes in.
In my personal studio I use them alot as well as 4L paint drum which can be brought for about $5.00 from Bunnings warehouse or Masters. My old high school used milk jugs and they would just cut them at half way.

Plastic Cups

Plastic Cups

Glass Jars and other Storage

Glass Jars and other Storage

 

EASEL OR HOLDING YOUR CANVAS

Like I said before you don’t need an easel if you don’t have the $100 to $150 to spare save it and buy the better paint instead of the shit student quality. There are a couple of options you have

1st.
 ” Screws ” are amazing object if you owe the house and can put a couple of screws in the wall at painting height then this one way to hold your canvas.
2nd option is milk crates , turn them up side down and BAM your easel is set up smart , smile , easy . It also works with paint tins
3rd option is your normal easel try get h frame with wheels with easy adjustments now Riot Art and Craft and Esckerleys both fight for your sales each christmas this is the best time to pick one up.

IMG_0408

Canvas are all held up with 2 screws each

Paint Tin Easel

Paint Tin Easel

P5131670

Milk Crate Easel

Actually Painting Setup

My your work space is easy to understand with quick movement you know you going to be able to pick up brushes or the right colour which im looking for.
I have brought some cheap and nasty side tables which are next to my chair. Now the next important and I think one of the biggest items a studio need a good conformable chair  I sit in my chair for hours at time , now if don’t like sitting down when you paint then get some good shoes because sore feet suck.

IMG_0513

Christopher McKenzie studio in early 2012

Miranda-paints

Try colour group your paint makes for easy access

16_16_pb33243

Small side table are great to have

26_26_wheretheycreate56_905

Jaap Simonis in his studio

10 MiscellaneousObjects

  1. Visual Diary ( if you don’t have one get one tomorrow ) All painters should continue to draw its fundamental of painting.
  2. Every Studio needs light if you can get a natural light source most of the time great do it, but if not try get nice lamp or new natural lamp.
  3. Now who doesn’t listen to music I cant stop when I paint I also like to sing and dance but Im shit at that, Im lucky I can paint lol.
  4. Blue builder tape or Blue masking tape of praise the lord this stuff actually exist I say without I don’t how I would paint some thing , its also great for visual dairies
  5. Cutting matts you never know when you need one I use mine 20% of the time but I still have one
  6. OK Camera samsung galaxy s4 now has 13mp camera so it does the trick for me.
  7. Rulers and String its heaps when your drawing or painting straight lines or circles
  8. I like to keep my laptop or phone handy incase I
  9. need to google something or emergencies
  10. A bin helps to keep the studio from going all crazy and stuff.
  11. Wall of inspiration or pictures of past work its helps me keep my style and just I like to show my respect to the the artist work i love.
2013-05-01 12.03.06

Christopher McKenzie Mid-Semster 2013 Griffith University2013-05-21 14.58.561. Christopher Visual Journals

 

2. Light source

2. Light source

1026 by paul barbera for WTC8_905

The beats

4. Builder Blue Tape

4. Builder Blue Tape

5. Cutting Matt

5. Cutting Matt

6. Good Camera for documentation

6. Good Camera for documentation

 

7.Rulers & String

7.Rulers & String

8. Keep computer near for googling

8. Keep computer near for googling

9. A bin to keep the place tidy

9. A bin to keep the place tidy

 

Wall of Inspiration

Wall of Inspiration

Now to view some amazing studio and check out where I got most the images for the blog post here are the links

http://wheretheycreate.com
http://inthemake.com
http://thedesignfiles.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

