Interview “Declan May”

Declan May is an young photographer straight out of the sunny Gold Coast, emerging as one of Queensland College of Arts finest new talents. Declan has come quite renown for his barren and beautiful landscape , vintage portraits and pop culture photojournalism. Declan is surely a kid to watch, this week I caught up with him on semester break and asked him a couple of questions about his practise.

Who inspires you?
Morgan Massen is one of many, some of his surfing images are really next level, and break away from the floods of the same images just different waves with different riders. I guess I just really like the idea of producing something that isn’t being done, but still gets the message across. A new way to tell the same story.


When people ask you what you “do”, how do you answer?
I tell them the truth, I am a dishy at a cafe, who is at uni studying photography and couldn’t be happier with the way its going.

Which five words best describe you?
Passionate, thankful, loud, distracted, dad jokes.

tumblr_lqqvj8fwdv1qbky2to1_1280
What dream do you still want to fulfil? 

To make a living from photography, and try to avoid turning my passion into a static job that I loath

What are your biggest challenges to creating art and how do you deal with them?  

I would say recently it has been searching for ideas for fashion/editorial shoots, trying to avoid the ‘norm’, achieving something new, that I am happy with. I deal with it by thinking and acting out all the ideas I have, I cant really decide if I don’t like an image until I take it and have it sitting in front of me. 

What are you reading?

Wild Wild World of the Cramps
Website_0069
Website_0103
Website_0108

Leave a Reply

