Brooke James

Early in 2010 I was sitting at local vintage store where I display my art and the idea for lmtdspace came about. I happened to be chilling there when a young girl walked in and asked to buy one of my drawings for her friend’s birthday. I got talking to her and realised she was kick ass chick. We ended up talking about the arts and everything in between then I found out a couple of days later from a friend, she was a local videographer and photographer.3 years on I have worked with Brooke over numerous projects from music video right through to photographing my exhibitions. Earlier this week I was lucky enough pull her aside from her crazy schedule and interview her,here it is.

 1 Abby Keep
How did you get your career start and what path have you taken since?
 It started when I was about 14 and did work experience at In The Bin Short Short Film Festival. It actually started because I secretly wanted to be an actress and then fell in love with directing music videos. Then when I was 16 I started my own production business because I was too young to work for anybody else or to be taken seriously so I began creating my own work and approaching bands. I ended up directing my first solo music video at a bar I wasn’t legal to be in with a band made up of three 25 year old men to whom I’m forever grateful. I also graduated high school at 16 so I figured I may as well get a degree on the side because let’s be honest, what record label is going to hire a 16 year old to direct their next  $25 000+ film clip?
I obtained my  Bachelor of Communication (majoring in Digital Comm, Popular Music, Media and Culture) by the time I was 19 and somewhere along the lines I fell in love with photography and got heavily into fashion.
Right now my focus is still the same; fashion and music and slowly building up a business empire. So far the past few years have taken me on a wild journey both here in Australia and overseas and I’ve met some amazing people along the way.
What’s the best lesson you’ve learnt so far?
Man, that’s hard. There’s so many.
I have learned that sometimes ‘no’ is your most powerful asset. Also, stay focused and never settle.
When people ask you what you “do”, how do you answer?
I say I’m a director and photographer-that’s the simple answer. I know where you’re going with this…Ask any person working in the arts and they will be doing multiple things at once. I probably should just say I’m a ‘creative’  but it’s so broad and people don’t really care. For the most part they just want to know how they can use your services or want to start a friendly conversation.

What are you currently reading, listening to or looking at to fuel your work?
Right now I’m reading Landfall by Helen Gordon, music videos for inspiration for locations and blogs to keep up to date on fashion movements.
Musically, I like songs rather than entire albums. Right now I’m into Haim, M83, Santigold and a whole lot of hip hop. Also, the Hand Games mixtapes never miss the mark.
Do you have a motto?
‘It’s me against me, there’s no way I’m losing.’  or ‘You’re either hard working or lucky, you can’t be both at the same time’.
IMG_9549 a

For More Information on Brooke James and Brooke James Productions all the links are below

Leave a Reply

