The Blind Kid

Brandon Els aka The Blind Kid is a hardworking artist from the coast who put his artistic ability and ideas into creating a magazine. By the end of 2010, Trunk Junk Quarterly had gone from idea to paper with Els standing as Co Founder and Head Designer. Not only is he artistic but his wealth of ideas never fails to amaze me. As one person who is looking to give back to other upcoming artists, musicians and really great people, it seems that The Blind Kid has really found his place. While designing and printing a magazine can be hard enough, Els runs a number of competitions during the year that help artists gain exposure. It’s taken over a month for Brandon to squeeze us in for a few questions and here they are.

One reason you make art:
I’d say the main reason I make art is because I know someone, somewhere in the world is going to be using or seeing it, and actually have some sort of appreciation for it. It’s something that not a lot of other occupations offer.

Something you’ve always wanted to do, but have yet to:
Putting together an office for the magazine and my freelance work. It’s been on the cards for a while, but every time it seems like it may just happen, I hit some sort of speed bump! Fingers crossed that everything goes smoothly over the next couple years, and I’ll have something on it’s way by 2014 ha ha!

Favourite country or city visited
Ah, everywhere I have been to has been so different, so it’s hard to compare each one. Each country and city seem to have their own personalities. America was a lot nicer than I thought it would be. There is so much to be seen. I did a trip their last year, visiting LA, Arizona, New Mexico and a few other places. Had a blast. New Zealand is also really rad, heaps of cool people, and only an hour away from the snow if you’re in Queenstown.

Something you want the world to know about you:
Ha ha, tough question! I guess having everyone know that I’m just here for a good time.

Artists you admire:
There are a lot of extremely talented artists out there, and definitely far too many to mention all at once. Sometime I question why I do this gig when there are sooo many more talented artists than myself. I kinda just sit in my corner, and hope no one else finds them first, otherwise I’d be out ofwork in a second ha ha. Some of my most inspirational artists would have to be guys like Pose, Ken Taylor, Jirat James, Monaux, Meggs, Broken Fingaz, Hydro 74 and a big number of European mad men like Nychos and Mcbess. Will stop there before I give to many of my unempoyers away.



Something you do when you’re procrastinating?
Stare at blank screens, or sketch a whole bunch of crap in my drawing book. I have a bad back because of both.

What is your greatest fear?
Dying whilst doing something I don’t love. Oh, and having to face Teahupoo.

What is the biggest risk you’ve ever taken and was it worth it?
Ha ha, that’s an easy one! Putting together Trunk Junk Quarterly was by far the biggest risk I have ever taken. Still have no clue if it’s going to ever work, or if people even like it. It’s not got us anywhere close to being successful yet, but have to say it’s good fun running your own mag, and it does have it’s privileges. Have met so many cool people since I started it, and done a lot more traveling too because of it. Well worth the risk if you ask me.


What do you hope to accomplish in the next five years of your life?
Definitely want to travel a bit more. I plan to go live in Whistler for a season or two at the end of this year. I also want to get the magazine fully up and running, and have it actually pay itself off, without having to sell any more of my transportation vehicles. So far it’s taken my motorbike, and a few wheels from my car. Getting that studio I mentioned earlier going would be a big thing for me too.

The amazing list of clients Brandon has designed for
FYVE SNOWBOARDS , BODY GLOVE, APNEA SNOWBOARDS, PIMPHANDS GLOVES, CWB BOARD CO, LIQUID MALISHA, MASTERCRAFT BOATS, FREW, DRAGON ALLIANCE, YAMAHA, FUEL TV, IRON FIST,
FYVE SKATEBOARDS, RIPPER SKATEBOARDS, CONNELLY SKIS, FREWITION, STAFFORD BROTHERS, CARLTON DRY, TRUNK JUNK QUARTERLYBrandon can be contact by this website HERE 

Leave a Reply

