Bryan Lynch-Wells

I’m trained to paint, and I’ve never had a single formal photography lesson in my life. This means that when I compose my shot I think about it like a painting. I believe that a lot of the compositional skills of painting are transferable to photography so I try to get the lines right and manipulate the viewer’s focus. I like to play with light and I often find myself using a silhouetted figure. This serves to de-identify the subject, making the photo less personal and more like photo documentation. A lot of my photos come from exploring abandoned buildings, drains and other places I’m not suppposed to be, so that I can document these places and the people that go to them and then give other people a glimpse of that world through my photos. On the same token of showing people what they havent seen before, I try to take photos that aren’t taken by the masses, or to take it from a different perspective. For example, degraves street is a subject that has been photographed thousands of times and when I realised this I found a way to take a photo from above it so I could get an angle that not everyone else has. My photos are often de-saturated or monochromatic, this takes away the distraction of colour. This forces the viewer to focus on the lines, composition and lighting, so that they see the image the way I see it.

where do you see your art going in 5 years?

Art is something that I’m going to keep with me for the rest of my life in some shape or form. The best friends I’ve made in life have all been made through arts and creative avenues so I’m certain that I will always have at least one foot in the realm of art. In 5 years I will have finished my bachelor of fine art (painting) and by this stage I want to be involved with the Melbourne art scene. I want to focus on exhibiting at artist run spaces, working with the friends I’ve made in my course.

Does you painting now have element of your photography?

I think the two have influenced each other. Some of my photos have started looking like paintings and photography has definitly helped me practice my skills of composition and framing.

who are your idols in art and why?
My Idols. The first and foremost is Marcel Duchamp. He was a strategist at heart and he really knew how to play the art society of his day. Most of the early modernist movements will claim him as a key member and yet he never really belonged to one in particular. Like Picasso he knew how to break the rules and get famous for it and yet despite all the success, when he felt that he didn’t want to do art anymore he ended his career and played chess for the rest of his life. My favourite quote of his is that the artists of the future will be underground artists. Another old master I have to mention is Van Gough, his paintings make me believe that there is more to a painting than just chemicals spread across a canvas. I also have an affinity for the dadaists. The only photographer that I like who I can remember the name of is Bill Henson, I love his street photography. Oh and another one is an artist who works in Melbourne but was originally from New Zealand, his name is Jason Maling. I’m putting him up because sometimes art is confusing, daunting and just too conceptual and I feel that his work treats it with satire and brings it back down to Earth. He reminds me to stay positive and if all else fails just get out the satire.

this is my photography blog, http://theprocella.tumblr.com/ please have a flick through some pages

One thought on “Bryan Lynch-Wells

Leave a Reply

